TOP > Conferences >International Workshop on Physical Phenomena in Multi-Component Membranes

International Workshop on Physical Phenomena in Multi-Component Membranes

This symposium is organized as a research activity of our project "Creation of Non-Equilibrium Soft Matter Physics -Structure and Dynamics of Mesoscopic Systems-" supported by a Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research on the Priority Area from the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology of Japan. " (2006-2010, Project Leader: Takao Ohta of Kyoto University).

17 - 19, March 2008
Tokyo Metropolitan University, International House (国際交流会館)


Recently it has been revealed that multi-component lipid membranes show fruitful and important biophysical behaviors such as phase separations, shape deformation, adhesion, fusion and so on, which may play important roles in biological functionalities. The main focus of this workshop is to exchange the information on recent research topics on physical phenomena in multi-component membranes from physical and biological points of view. Especially in order to encourage deep discussions we would like to restrict the number of participants ~40 persons, who have been investigating the research topics.

Invited speakers

Miglena Angelova
(Universite Pierre et Marie Curie - Paris 6, France)
Damien Baigl
(Ecole Normale Superieure, France)
Rumiana Dimova
(Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Germany)
Masayuki Imai
(Ochanomizu University, Japan)
Sarah Keller
(University of Washington, USA)
Shigeyuki Komura
(Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan)
Sunil Kumar
(Indian Institute of Technology, India)
Victor Levadny
(Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia)
Benjamin Smith
(University of British Columbia, Canada)
Tadashi Sugawara
(University of Tokyo, Japan)
Kingo Takiguchi
(Nagoya University, Japan)
Takashi Taniguchi
(Yamagata University, Japan)
Masahito Yamazaki
(Shizuoka University, Japan)

Young scientist presentations

Tsutomu Hamada
(Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)
Masatoshi Ichikawa
(Kyushu University, Japan)
Shinichiro Nomura
(Tokyo Medical & Dental University, Japan)
Sanoop Ramachandran
(Indian Institute of Technology, India)
Yuka Sakuma
(Ochanomizu University, Japan)
Naofumi Shimokawa
(Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan)
Yukihiro Tanba
(Shizuoka University, Japan)
Taro Toyota
(Chiba University, Japan)






List of Participants


We reserved hotel (Keio Plaza Hotel Tama) for invited speakers during the conference period.